About the Institute
  Policy Statement, Vision, Mission
  MOI Act
  Genesis of MOI
  The Board
Photo Gallery
Invitation to Tender
Online Databases
Media Corner

The Board


The Mauritius Oceanography Institute is managed by a Board, consisting of a Chairperson appointed by the Minister and senior representatives of different ministries and institutions. Sections 8 to 10 of the MOI Act of 1999 lay down the overall responsibility of the Board.

The present composition of the Board is as follows:

(a)   Chairman of the MOI Board:

  • Mr. Raj Hemansing Prayag, PDSM
(b)   A representative of Ministry of Ocean Economy, Marine Resources, Fisheries, Shipping and Outer Islands:
  • Mr. N. Soobratty, Deputy Permanent Secretary
(c)   A representative of Ministry of Finance and Economic Development:
  • Mr. A. K. Kokil, Director
(d)   A representative of Ministry of Environment, Sustainable Development, Disaster and Beach Management:
  • Mr. S. Mooloo, Deputy Director of Environment
(e)   A representative of Ministry of Housing and Lands:
  • Mr. Harish Rajcoomar, Deputy Chief Surveyor (Hydrographic Unit)
(f)   A representative of Outer Islands Development Corporation:
  • Mr. J. D. P. Labonne, Officer-in-Charge
(g)   A representative of Mauritius Research Council:
  • Dr. A. Suddhoo, Executive Director
(h)   A representative of Mauritius Meteorological Services:
  • Mr. Rajan Mungra, Director
(i)   A representative of Mauritius Port Authority:
  • Captain L. B. Barbeau, Port Master
(j)   A representative of University of Mauritius:
  • Professor Anwar Hussein Subratty, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academia)
(k)   Representatives of Prime Minister’s Office:
  • Mr. O. K. Dabidin, Permanent Secretary
  • Mr. D. Gopaul, Deputy Permanent Secretary - (Rodrigues Division)
(l)   Members appointed by the Minister:
  • Professor S. Bhoojedhur
  • Mr. Atmanun Venkatasami
  • Mr. Munesh Munbodh
Copyright © 2002-2014 Mauritius Oceanography Institute